An Evening with

Friday, Oct. 27, 2023   6:00 p.m.
DoubleTree by Hilton, Cedar Rapids

Ticket sales for this event are now closed.

Ticket holders- please watch your email for any announcements.

This event is in support of the Timeless Values|Modern Experience campaign for the renovation of the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum. Qualifying Iowa taxpayers will receive an Iowa state tax credit equal to 25% of their ticket purchase, minus the cost of goods received (your meal). Your tax credit application will be mailed to you automatically. Simply sign and return your form to apply for your credit. Ticket refunds are not available for individuals receiving the tax credit.

The main event begins with a few brief announcements, followed by the introduction of Condoleezza Rice, who will participate in an armchair discussion with Margaret Hoover, host of the PBS series, Firing Line with Margaret Hoover, and one of Herbert Hoover’s great granddaughters. Guests will then enjoy a delicious dinner followed by a short presentation highlighting Foundation programs that honor the 2023 Uncommon Public Service Award recipients, Uncommon Students, and the Timeless Values | Modern Experience campaign for the renovation of the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum.

Business dress/cocktail attire requested. A cash bar reception will open one hour prior to the event. Cash bars will be open in the dining hall during the meal. Two complimentary bottles of wine are included on each table.

About our honored guest:
Condoleezza Rice is the Tad and Dianne Taube Director of the Hoover Institution and a Senior Fellow on Public Policy. She is the Denning Professor in Global Business and the Economy at the Stanford Graduate School of Business. In addition, she is a founding partner of Rice, Hadley, Gates & Manuel LLC, an
international strategic consulting firm.

From January 2005 to January 2009, Rice served as the 66th Secretary of State of the United States, the second woman and first black woman to hold the post. Rice also served as President George W. Bush’s Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs (National Security Advisor) from January 2001 to
January 2005, the first woman to hold the position.

Rice served as Stanford University’s provost from 1993 to 1999, during which time she was the institution’s chief budget and academic officer. As Professor of Political Science, she has been on the Stanford faculty since 1981 and has won two of the university’s highest teaching honors.

From February 1989 through March 1991, Rice served on President George H.W. Bush’s National Security Council staff. She served as Director, then Senior Director, of Soviet and East European Affairs, as well as Special Assistant to the President for National Security. In 1986, while an International Affairs Fellow of the Council on Foreign Relations, Rice also served as Special Assistant to the Director of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

She has authored and co-authored numerous books, most recently To Build a Better World: Choices to End the Cold War and Create a Global Commonwealth (2019), co-authored with Philip Zelikow. Among her other volumes are three bestsellers, Democracy: Stories from the Long Road to Freedom (2017); No
Higher Honor: A Memoir of My Years in Washington (2011); and Extraordinary, Ordinary People: A Memoir of Family (2010).

In 2022, Rice became a part-owner of the Denver Broncos as a part of the Walton-Penner Family Ownership Group. In 2013, Rice was appointed to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee, formerly the Bowl Championship Series. She served on the committee until 2017.

Born in Birmingham, Alabama, Rice earned her bachelor’s degree in political science, cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa, from the University of Denver; her master’s in the same subject from the University of Notre Dame; and her Ph.D., likewise in political science, from the Graduate School of International Studies at the University of Denver.

Rice is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has been awarded over fifteen honorary doctorates.